On Adaptation


One of the last good things my exgirlfriend gave as a present was a litle book from Pinguin editorial, meaning: very slim, specifically shortstories and basically to read on the train, subway or busses.

I can’t remember the author right now, but don’t worry I will give you a lot more information about this single shortstry: On Adaptation.

It made me think on how I reacted on the approach of sue, maybe I scared her, but at the first moment she was atracted by my direct look. To be clear and sincere were my two principals.

On this shortstory, you are told how one tries to adapt yourself to the person you have fallen in love, how you try to find out the taste, all the things this person dislikes, the things you have in common or not and much more important: if it is necessary to share these common-uncommon characteristics.

The direct question, the real question behind the whole ceremony, nerves, sweating, suffering, stomach-ache, insomnia, etcetera   IS  no other than:  WHO ARE YOU?

and how are we going (or not) to manage the transformation of: you and me into US.

4 comentarios to “On Adaptation”

  1. Diy Says:

    Knock..Knock…Can I come in?? Good to “see you” again. I think I’m going to have a look at that book.
    Àfrica/DIY/Myself…
    Un beso

  2. issis Says:

    of course you can come in, you can have a drink, a talk, and rest as much as you want.
    As I don’t really think this book is easy to find here, cause it was bought in Australia, I will copy the 4 to 5 pages.
    Read you soon.

  3. her Says:

    yeah yeah yeah
    ine ine heroine

  4. DIY Says:

    Thank you very much…I will then 🙂

    Although I don’t really agree with having to adapt yourself to the person you’ve fallen in love with…it might be useful to see how the others expect you to react. Let’s face it…I love playing!! It would be brilliant if you could copy those pages…thanks again. I’m happy to read you again..whether you like or not… 😛

Responder

